Thoughts On The Future

I think about the future a LOT… Is my family still going to be safe and healthy in the next few years? How am I going to pay for all of the things that I think I “need?” How am I going to survive student teaching? Am I going to get a job in North Carolina as an elementary school teacher? A year from now, and two years from now, will I still have all of the friendships that I have now? Will Jake and I grow into the relationship that we want to have? How the heck am I going to handle being an adult after I graduate? Most importantly – Am I living in a way that glorifies God? Am I doing the things that HE wants me to, instead of just things that I want?? What if the path I’m going down is the wrong one?

I’ve been inspired to compile a collection of quotes that ease the fear of the future that I think we all have to a certain extent. At first, I didn’t have the idea to do this for myself. I wanted to do it for my roommate and best friend, Nicole. And there is another amazing woman that I have been inspired by to make this. But then once I started thinking about my future, I started freaking out! This is not news to any of us, as we all probably share this insecurity. I can’t believe that I haven’t already dedicated a page of my blog to this topic already.

It’s all about letting God take control. It’s about having hope for the future. But have I really ever let God take complete control of my future? He truly does have control of EVERYTHING. But I find myself holding onto things that I think that I can control. I am a worrier, of even the smallest of things. But I think that especially in the spirit of the New Year, we should all try to let God handle our worries! Not only does he offer that for us, he PROMISES and even begs to deal with our burdens for us. So, here’s to our futures y’all. And here’s to you, Nicole. I love you!

And before you start reading the quotes…I’d like to tell Bobby Craig and the boys from Hinton that I can hear “The way of the future, the way of the future” echoing in my head as I create this blog post. :)

The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time.
Abraham Lincoln

Faith isn’t the ability to believe long and far into the misty future. It’s simply taking God at His Word and taking the next step.
Joni Erickson Tada

You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.
Steve Jobs

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.
Jeremiah 29:11

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.
Ecclesiastes 3:11

Hakuna Matata! It means no worries for the rest of your days.
Lion King

Do not look back and grieve over the past, for it is gone; and do not be troubled about the future, for it has not yet come. Live in the present, and make it so beautiful that it will be worth remembering.
Ida Scott Taylor

The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past worry about the future, or anticipate troubles, but to live in the present moment wisely and earnestly.
Buddha

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own
Matthew 6:34

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.
Phil 4:6

I am not afraid of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love today.
William Allen White

My future is in your hands. Rescue me from those who hunt me down relentlessly.
Psalm 31:15

The future is called “perhaps,” which is the only possible thing to call the future. And the only important thing is not to allow that to scare you.
Tennessee Williams

Only I can tell you the future before it even happens. Everything I plan will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish.
Isaiah 46:10

The longer you wait for the future, the shorter it will be.
Loesje

Forget about what’s happened; don’t keep going over old history. Be alert, be present. I’m about to do something brand-new. It’s bursting out! Don’t you see it? There it is! I’m making a road through the desert, rivers in the badlands.
Isaiah 43:18-19

Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.
Eddie Cantor

Every tomorrow has two handles. We can take hold of it with the handle of anxiety or the handle of faith.
Henry Ward Beecher

That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life-whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing?
Matthew 6:25

Slow down. Calm down. Don’t worry. Don’t hurry. Trust the process.
Alexandra Stoddard

Pick the day. Enjoy it – to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come. The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present – and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.
Audrey Hepburn

Life moves pretty fast. You don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
Ferris Bueller

People are always worried about what’s happening next. They often find it difficult to stand still, to occupy the now without worrying about the future. People are not generally satisfied with what they have; they are very concerned with what they are going to have.
Garth Stein

Have faith in yourself and the future.
Ted Kennedy

Leave a Reply

