Two More Weeks!

Last week was definitely an interesting week. I made an unplanned trip to High Point Friday morning, and stayed until Monday afternoon. My younger brother was in the hospital, but he is on the mend! We are not sure exactly what was wrong, but what I do know now is that he is doing better. And that’s what matters!

Since I missed the Sunday night dinner and Monday at the work site, my week was thrown off. Instead of leading my own work team, Julia combined both of ours and sent them off to Johnny Ledford’s house! This means that Julia and I led a team of thirty-one people. That’s three churches on one site. Yes, it was a little crazy and it was kinda stressful, but there it was really cool to see so many projects getting done at once! There was a group building a door frame and awning at the back of the house, a group drywalling, two groups painting (both inside and outside), and a group wiring the upstairs. But those aren’t the only projects that got done. We also managed to complete a lot of smaller tasks too. So overall, it was a productive week.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

All of the volunteers on my team were awesome, and I wish I could have gotten to know them better! But I started the week late, and on Thursday my brain decided to get a migraine. So that kept me from being myself sadly!

This weekend was great, though. I got to spend some time with Chad, Scott, and Drew at the pool on Friday. It was Chad’s last day, which makes me sad! We definitely miss him at Hinton already. Saturday I went to JC & Marlene’s wedding with Mike, Drew, and CJ. After the ceremony and the reception, we all came back to Hinton and had a lot of fun. I’m going to miss these guys a lot!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Jake made a trip to Atlanta this weekend with a lot of guys. They went to a couple of the Braves games, and I’m sure they had a lot of fun. I haven’t been able to talk to him for the past couple of days though, so I’m excited to talk to him on the phone tonight! I keep telling myself – two more weeks, two more weeks. I really just can’t wait for things to get back to normal so I can see him every day.

Today was the first work day of the week with my group from Wilmington Island (Savannah, GA). We finished all of the projects at the Burrell’s house. We laid down the last stepping stones on the walkway, finished tiling in the hallway, and got rid of some mildew in the shower and re-caulked it! Tomorrow we are off to a new site. I am really excited, because I’m getting to build my first porch and wheelchair ramp! I’m pretty nervous, but I can’t wait!

I can’t believe that there are only two weeks left in my summer. Next weekend I’m making a trip to Warner Robins with Mike and Matt. It is going to be AWESOME! I can’t wait to see those kids again! We are going to have so much fun, I know. And then the weekend after that I’m going to be moving out of this apartment in Hayesville and into my house in Raleigh! I don’t know what it’s going to be like living in a house yet, but I’m pretty excited about it. I’m really looking forward to getting back into the swing of things with classes and work. And football season is just around the corner – my favorite time of year!

Leave a Reply

